The waiting is over.  After 100 days, over 700 plates washed, 700 glasses, 1400 pieces of silverware, numerous pots and pans, I pick up my new dishwasher today.  I’ve had a terrible time making a decision on what to purchase, but we finally have a winner.  I’m getting a whirlpool to match my stainless fridge.  My poor dishpan hands are clapping in excitement.  Now, Mia can have her chore of unloading the dishwasher back.

I’m enjoying my last day of being forty-two.  Yes, tomorrow is my birthday.  It is going to be a crazy busy day with so much to do.  Grant is taking the PSAT tomorrow and he has to be there at 8:00 am.  This will be the most challenging part of the day.  He is most definitely not a wake up happy and alert kind of kid.  I’m not a drive in rush hour traffic kind of mom, and I’m nervous about having to be somewhere I’ve never gone, drop off a kid who isn’t quite awake and expect him to do well on a test.  The rest of the day will be pretty busy.  Spanish class in the afternoon, ballet, and Karate testing, then church.  All this, and my kids are helping me on a covert birthday mission.  I’ll post on that Thursday.  The busyness and diversion will be good for me as I’ve been missing my dad lately and miss that birthday phone call at the crack of dawn.

So much to be thankful for though:  health, friends, my family and home, getting to live my dream of being a stay at home mom, the blessing of a houseful of kids, modern appliances, clean water, beds to sleep in, my overstocked craft room, a dependable vehicle, new life in Christ.  Forty-two was a good year.

