Teach me to number my days that I might gain a heart of wisdom.  Psalm 90:12

If I knew that today was my last day on this side of eternity, what would I do differently?  How do you leave a legacy if you aren’t aware?  What will my children remember of me when I’m gone?  Tough questions I know, but they are weighing hard on me this morning.  I found out this morning that a friend from high school passed away yesterday from bone cancer.  He was 44 years old and suffered a long painful death.  He leaves behind a wife and four children.  Last week, it was the brother of a friend from high school who just dropped dead.  They think it was a heart attack.  He was 43 and left behind two very young children.  Last month, it was my date to Jr. Prom.  He died of spinal cancer at age 43.  He left behind a teenage daughter.  How do we live each day knowing that death is seeking to kill, steal and destroy all that we hold dear?

As a Christian, I know that this world is not my home and that I have a home waiting for me in heaven.  No stupid cancer, no tears, no sin.  This race is hard.  It is most definitely not for sissies.  The road is narrow and most of it is unpaved.  I have the scars to prove it.  I also know that I’m going to win the prize someday.  I will see my dad, a baby that was born into heaven, my grandparents, aunts and uncles, childhood friends that died too young, my homeschool friend who passed away this summer, and best of all, my Jesus who made all of these reunions possible.  Through new life in Christ, I will cheat death.

I am numbering my days this side of heaven by being in the moment.  It is a constant struggle with the demands of this world.  When I leave the sink full of dishes so I can read a book to my 3yo, I am choosing life.  When I drive out of my way to get my 10yo a book she’s waiting for at the library, I am choosing life.  When I cook my 14yo’s favorite dinner, I’m choosing life.  When I spend my free time making a costume for my 16 yo, I am choosing life.  When I give my time and talent to my toothless 8yo’s birthday party, I am choosing life.  I’m overwhelmed by God’s graciousness to me. I see each child in my home is another opportunity to serve, teach, grow, and experience the fullness of Christ.  The most important lessons we teach are those that last for eternity.  I am numbering my days in wisdom.

