I’m in a funk.

This usually happens to me after Christmas, before the days warm up, and I should know it’s coming.  Funny how it always seems to be upon me before I’ve even had a chance to realize it’s happening.  I think most of life works that way.  We get so caught up in our day to day that we don’t notice much of anything, good or bad. I know the things that I should be doing:  regular workouts, eating good clean food, spending time in the Word, giving more of myself to my family, focusing on what I have instead of what I don’t.  My Bible reading plan is so far behind I don’t know how to get back on track, I’m finding it extremely tedious.   My workouts are staying pretty consistent because I’m watching Netflix while I workout on the treadmill so it feels more like an indulgence.  I’m not always making the greatest choices food wise, but I’m getting better.  I’m trying to plan a garden and some house projects for when the weather gets warmer, and hoping to get my kids more involved in the process of house projects.  I sometimes think they would be content to sit and watch television all day if I let them.  I just don’t understand watching someone else live their life when you could be living your own.  My gifts list is languishing while I wish things were different.  Not good.

I’ve been living without a goal.  Letting life pass by and not noticing.  Not counting gifts.  Not creating.  So, with that in mind, I will be more intentional.  I will set goals for workouts, water consumption, plan meals, work on creative endeavors, plan date nights with my husband.  I will count or photograph at least five gifts every day.  I will be in the Word more, and in prayer more.  I will Facebook less, Pin less, and fast from electronic media one day per week.  I will invite someone for tea.  I will bake with my children.  I will give homemade bread away.  I will journal more.  Create more.  Love more.

Gifts List 2/6/12:  the gift of seeing my father on video with Grant at four months old; praises sung and strummed by my 10 year old; my first girls heart for service at home and away; the job that provides a home for my family; the health of my children; bookcases full of treasures; blog friends that encourage me to be a better wife and mother; the gift of creativity that abounds within the walls of my home; winter days ahead with hot chocolate and books; habits broken and replaced with better ones; being a new creation; hope.